James Lapine and Susan Stroman join Beowulf Boritt at The Drama Book Shop on October 11

The Drama Book Shop today announced a reading, discussion and signing for the new book by Tony Award-winning set designer Beowulf Boritt, Transforming Space Over Time: Set Design and Visual Storytelling with Legendary Broadway Directors. Hosted by Peabody Award-winning broadcaster, director and designer Elliott Forrest, Boritt will be joined in conversation with two of his collaborators on the book, legendary Tony Award-winning directors James Lapine and Susan Stroman.

The event will take place on Tuesday, October 11 at 7:00 p.m. at The Drama Book Shop (266 West 39e Street). Tickets are $35 and can be purchased at dramabookshop.comand include entry to the event and a copy of Transforming space over time. Guests are recommended to wear a mask indoors. No merchandise, photo or other souvenir may be signed.

Transforming space over time tells the stories of six diverse productions: five on Broadway and one Off-Broadway. Tony Award-winning set designer Beowulf Boritt begins with the moment he was offered each job and takes readers through the conceptual development of a set, the challenges of its physical creation, and the intense process of preparation for the stage. Theater is at the heart of a collaborative art form, and Boritt shares revealing details of his work with the many professionals – directors, designers, technicians, producers, managers and actors – who bring their talent and ideas to every show. . Here you will find extensive conversations with theater legends James Lapine, Kenny Leon, Hal Prince, Susan Stroman, Jerry Zaks and Stephen Sondheim, discussing how their different approaches to theater help shape the vision of a set and the best practices of creative collaboration. Boritt also offers valuable insight into the sometimes frustrating but inevitable realities of the “biz” part of showbiz – budgets, promotion, reviews and awards.

Full of essential advice for budding and seasoned professionals alike, and full of entertaining and enlightening anecdotes to engage avid theatergoers, Transforming space over time opens the curtain and illuminates the art and craft of professional theater production, and in particular the all-important collaboration of designers and directors.

Beowulf Borit (Author) enjoyed a 25-year career in theater and engineered over 450 shows in New York City (including 25 on Broadway and over 100 Off-Broadway), across the United States and internationally. He was nominated for three Tony Awards and won for his design of James Lapine’s act one. Boritt received an Obie Award for Sustained Excellence in Design, among many other awards and nominations. His work is currently represented on Broadway with the Tony Award-winning Come from afarand the forthcoming revival of August Wilson’s The piano lessondirected by LaTanya Richardson Jackson, starring Samuel L. Jackson, John David Washington and Danielle Brooks. He lives in New York with his wife, actor Mimi Bilinski, and his dog Natasha Rostov.

Elliot Forrest (Host). Peabody Award-winning broadcaster, director, producer, designer, filmmaker. Co-director and projection designer: NY Production with Trinity Wall Street, National Tour and PBS-TV Special of Considering Matthew Shepard by Craig Hella Johnson. Executive Producer, The Public Theatre’s Shakespeare in the Park on Radio Richard II. Co-Creator, Producer, Projector Designer of the National Tours of An Evening with Itzhak Perlman and Michael Feinstein celebrates Judy Garland. Afternoon host on classic New York radio station 105.9FM, WQXR and WQXR.org. Director, award-winning documentary with violinist Kelly Hall-Tompkins Face to face: forgotten voices are heard, which premiered at Carnegie Hall. Hosted over 60 concerts on stage at Carnegie Hall. For 12 years, Host, A&E Television Breakfast with the arts. Co-host of The Late, Late Radio Show with Tom Snyder.

James Lapine, directed and wrote Stephen Sondheim’s book Sunday in the park with George, In the woods, Passion and the multimedia magazine Sondheim on sondheim. With William Finn, he co-wrote and directed March of the Falsets and falsettoland, later presented on Broadway as Falsettos, as good as A new brain, The muscle, and Little Miss Sun. He wrote and directed plays Table settings, Luck, courage and virtue, The moment when, Fran’s bed, Mrs. Miller does it Thing, and his stage adaptation of Moss Hart’s memoir, act one. On Broadway, he also directed David Henry Hwang gifted, Anne Frank’s diary, Love, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee and the 2012 Broadway revival of Anne. He directed the movies Impromptu, Life with Mikey, Keep and the documentary Six of Sondheim. He has received three Tony Awards, five Drama Desk Awards and the Pulitzer Prize.

Stroman is a five-time Tony Award-winning director/choreographer. Her work has been recognized by Olivier, Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle, Lucille Lortel and a record six Astaire Awards. She notably directed and choreographed The producers, winner of a record 12 Tony Awards. For the Lincoln Center Theater, she co-created, directed and choreographed the groundbreaking musical Contact. She directed and choreographed the critically acclaimed musical The Scottsboro Boys on Broadway and in the West End, where she received the 2014 Evening Standard Award for Best Musical. She recently directed the Broadway play POTUS. Other Broadway credits include Oklahoma!, Show boat, Prince of Broadway, Bullets on Broadway, Big fish, Young Frankenstein, You won’t do, The music man, Frogs, Big, steel pier, Picnicand Crazy of you. Off-Broadway credits include The Beast in the Jungle, Dot, Flora the Red Menace, and the World Turns, Happiness, The Last Two People on Earth: An Apocalyptic Vaudeville. She directed and choreographed The Merry Widow for the Metropolitan Opera. And she directed and choreographed the Broadway-bound musical Ahrens/Flaherty Little Dancer. She is a member of the board of directors of the Ronald O. Perelman Center for the Performing Arts located at the World Trade Center and is inducted into the Theater Hall of Fame in New York.